top of page
Search

Tits Talk with Marisa Mu


Marisa Mu is a Melbourne based artist, poet and Co-Founder of Tits and Co. She founded this platform with one of her long-time best friends Manuela Perez in 2019 and in this Tits Talk - we sat down with Marisa to gain a deeper insight into her journey as a full-time artist and navigating the art world.



Firstly, how would you describe your work and your art practice?

I would describe my artistic practice as a constant exploration and celebration of identity, my culture and my place in this world.


My mission statement in life is to spark positive change within people; to empower them to understand the importance of personal visibility, to create impactful connections with people and art, to look upon the past and our roots as a guide to navigate life and to learn from one another.

It is the soulful purpose of celebrating the simple day-to-day moments that make us realize that the little things in life are not so little after all.


Claire Tennant posing besides one of her sculptures

Take us through your artist journey, how long have you been practicing as a full time artist?

I have been a full-time artist for 5 years now, I was working in retail management for 16 years before committing to myself and my art full-time. I launched my own label after graduating from the College of Fine Arts in 2014 and it was a side hustle for 6 years before I had a life-changing moment happen that would change the discourse of my life forever.


My mother used to be a beautiful painter, but she passed away in 2011 and I didn’t paint for a very long time after that because of the self-imposed pressure I would put onto myself – the voice in your head that tells you that what you produce will never be good enough. I put that voice to rest when I had a huge campaign launch for my label in 2017 where I challenged myself to paint a series of works to accompany my showcase.

It was a week out from the show, and I was so riddled with fear because I hadn’t painted anything yet, but I woke and heard my mum’s voice say, “Today is the day that you try” and I was shaking as I set out my brushes and paints and I do not know what possessed me that day but as soon as the brush touched the paper, I found myself painting colorful naked women dancing. I was laughing and crying at the same time because I was so overcome with happiness and relief because I was finally painting again.

The small series of paintings all sold that night and that was the turning point for me – where I realized that everything led me to this point where I realized I wanted to commit my life to following my dreams and living the life of an artist.


I have worked tirelessly over the years and am proud of where my art has taken me and will continue to take me. I am living my dream life and want to encourage others to do the same. It is possible to follow your passion and create a thriving career as an artist.

Claire Tennant Sculpture


Your playful use of color and character are strong elements in your work, what do you hope people will take away from your work?

I always hope that people will catch themselves smiling, on the outside and in their hearts when they come close and personal to my art. It is always a delight to see the spark in their eyes when they realize what the paintings are of.

The biggest take-away I want people to have is a deeper appreciation for the female form and also an understanding of the relevance of celebrating People of Colour. As a collective – we are a myriad of colors and movement, and the powerful nature of this is something I want people to walk away knowing and embracing within themselves everyday.



What are some key highlights within your career?


It’s crazy to reflect on the past few years as there has been such a collection of wonderful highlights. I was honored to receive the Emerging Artist of The Year in 2019 which was a huge year for me where I also went on to showcase in NYC and LA. I was also invited to do an Artist in Residency at the beautiful At the Above in Melbourne where I produced my most personal body of work and explored a new style of abstraction. This show sold-out in pre-release and I donated 25% of all art sales to SisterWorks, a Not-for-profit organisation that supports and upskills migrant, refugee and asylum seeker women.


Producing and curating our first Tits & Co. booth at The Affordable Art Fair last September in Melbourne was also a huge highlight for me. Representing a wonderfully curated group of artists from our Tits & Co. community and bridging the gap between the under-representation of female- identifying artists from all over the world in my current city was so incredibly rewarding and affirming.


I would love to open my own gallery one day and all these experiences have contributed to my visions slowly coming into fruition.



Do you have any advice for emerging artists or artists wanting to take their practice to a full-time basis?


I would suggest having a plan for your first year as a full-time artist before taking the leap. Have a major showcase booked or a series of group shows you have happening so you can work towards these milestones and generate income from your art with a sense of direction and security.


It’s very confronting to those who make the jump into full-time artist and they don’t have a plan in place but expect opportunities to come knocking. You have to make the opportunities and actively search for them, apply for Open Calls and Arts Prizes. The options are truly endless. When there’s a will, there’s a way and I believe the Universe rewards those who dare to dream and go after what they want. Things will start falling into place and I feel like the harder I have worked, the more opportunities and luck I seem to have. It’s truly wonderful how the forces attract and how everything all happens for a reason. Lean into your curiosity and back yourself. Being authentic to yourself and your journey will always shine through and resonate with people through your art. It’s a wonderful thing to believe in yourself. Do it.



What forthcoming projects or showcases should we look out for from you?



I am absolutely ecstatic about Tits & Co. showcasing at The Affordable Art Fair again this September at the iconic Royal Exhibition Building in Melbourne! The curation of artists is truly spectacular and I am so excited for a stand-out fair for all!


I have some very exciting shows in the first half of 2024 which I can’t announce yet but keep your eyes on my socials as huge announcements are incoming!









36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page